DIY: Repurpose Old T-Shirts

Hi guys!

Today I took some old t-shirts from summer camps, clubs, events, etc. and decided to make some bows!  There are lots of tutorials online, but here’s a brief tutorial on how I did it.  Since I have very limited sewing skills and no sewing machine, I made mine with a glue gun!

Image-11

For my first project, I used a plain cotton t-shirt from track and field, my trusty mini glue gun, and a cream short-sleeve lace-backed shirt.

Image-10Image-9

I cut a rectangle from the tee (you can see the missing fabric in the first picture) and used the glue gun to fold in all the sides.  This way, I created a double-layer rectangle with no frayed edges.  I also glued in the folded in corners so that they wouldn’t show from the front.  Finally, I cut a short strip of fabric and wrapped it around the middle of the rectangle to cinch it in and create the bow.  I made 3 pink bows and stuck them onto the shirt down the front.  You can also put them along the neckline, on the sleeves, on the back, etc.  The possibilities are endless!

I also made a navy bow with a hair elastic tucked in the middle strip of fabric.  You can see the bow modeled by my little sister in the last picture 🙂  It looks somewhat like the bow that Karen from Stylcrumb wore here!

There are lots of other things you can do with old tee-shirts.  Click here for over 50 ways to repurpose old shirts.  Have fun crafting!

Until next time,

Carolyn

2 thoughts on “DIY: Repurpose Old T-Shirts

Leave a Reply

