How-to: Pack for a Trip + Random

Hi guys!

I’m just going to show you what I put in my bag for a weeklong trip to California!  Since I’m leaving tomorrow and coming back on Sun., I needed to prepare clothes for 6 days.  I also had to pack formal business outfits because of the conference dress code.

photo-254photo-253

There you have it!  I put everything into a carry-on sized bag and had lots of room left over!  Here’s what I packed (keep in mind I had to have casual clothing + dress code appropriate clothing):

  • 2 dresses
  • 1 tank top/layering piece
  • 2 shorts
  • 1 cardigan
  • 4 tops (3 blouses + 1 tee)
  • 1 skirt
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 1 pair of slacks
  • 1 blazer
  • 1 magazine
  • 1 AP study guide
  • 3 pairs of shoes
  • undergarments
  • toiletries
  • cross body bag
  • belt
  • headphones and chargers (I put these in later)
  • MY BUNNY

I also put a bunch of stuff in a big cross-body bag (my “personal item”) like my notebook, 2 magazines, laptop, etc.

Here are some tips for packing efficiently:

  • ROLL YOUR CLOTHES!!!  It saves so much room and prevents clothes from wrinkling/creasing.  I rolled everything from my jeans to my blazer to my undergarments.  For more in-depth instructions, click here.
  • Choose clothing of the same color palette.  This makes it easier to mix and match different pieces to create new looks.  Of course, I didn’t pick clothes strictly only from one color palette, but most of the clothing I packed tended to be warm colors, dark navy, or grey (which matches nearly everything).
  • Wear your heaviest clothing.  I packed my dress shoes, sneakers, and flip flops, but I’m wearing my wedges to the airport because they take up the most room.  Tomorrow, I’m wearing a casual dress for comfort and layering a cardigan and jacket on top.  Wearing many layers not only saves room in your suitcase, but also allows you to easily adjust to changing temperatures.
  • BEWARE OF LIQUID SIZES!!!  Just last week I got my face wash confiscated because it was over the quantity limit.  For more information, click here.  In order to not lose any more toiletries, this time I put my conditioner, shampoo, face wash, and lotion all in separate travel-size containers.  You can easily find these containers at Target or Bed, Bath, and Beyond.  Luckily, my suitcase came with a pack of empty travel size containers.

That’s all for my packing tips!  Hopefully that will prove helpful to you at some point in time 🙂

I forgot to show what I bought at Yale, so I’ll just randomly show it now:

photo-255

Since I got 2 coupons with my Bulldog Days package, I bought a hat (~$12) and a hoodie (~$30).  They were a lot more expensive than what I would usually pay for a hat and a hoodie, but college clothing is expensive!  There were some hoodies pushing $60!  They didn’t have any smalls left in this pink version, so I got a medium.  It is HUGE, but I love it because it’s super warm and oversized!  Plus, it’s so big it covers my bum so I can wear leggings with it.  Lots of people got a classic blue shirt/hoodie/sweatshirt, but I got a pink one because PINK IS MY COLOR 😉

photo-257       photo-256

I got these dragonfly sunglasses ages ago and pulled them out because I can’t find my favorite brown ones.  I bought a really flattering pair from Forever 21 this past summer and it had a nice brown plastic frame, and this white frame looks a big bold.  It’s also really big, as you can tell in the pictures.  I will be looking for a new pair because this pair is so disproportionately huge.  I heard somewhere that big sunglasses are good though, because they protect the skin around your eyes from wrinkles.  I don’t go out enough for it to actually make a difference, though.

Until next time (in sunny California!),

Carolyn

2 thoughts on “How-to: Pack for a Trip + Random

Leave a Reply

